Happiness Is

I have been doing a lot of reading lately and this last book I read as changed me and opened up my eyes to see the world differently.  I read Way of the Peaceful Warrior written by Dan Millman and it has enlightened me and brought some insight into my world.  We all search for joy and happiness in our life and go to great lengths to acquire what we are after.  Some may think that by getting multiple achievements or degrees will make them happy, while others may think an abundance amount of money will be the way to total bliss.  I believe happiness and total enlightenment comes from within, you have to be happy with who you are, what you have, what you have become, where you have come from and where you are headed.  There is no need to worry about what others think, what achievements you feel you need to achieve or the amount of money you think you need to make.  Happiness starts on the inside with you and you have the power to radiate that happiness to others.  Go with the flow with everything life has to offer you, throw away your concerns, your doubts, your fears and your anger and you will find yourself to be more at peace and life will work itself out.  For those of you who do not know me on a personal level, I have a tendency to  be impatient, slightly uptight and always want to be in control.  I have completely let go everything that is out of my control and just enjoy life and everything around.  I am more aware of the little things surrounding me like the clouds in the sky, the leaves on the trees, how the wind moves the trees, the animals surrounding me and I feel an overwhelming sense of joy and peace.   I am at peace with the world, with myself and with everything around me and feel as I am embarking on the righteous path to happiness.  I know this path is just beginning for me but it feels great to have the insight and new look on the world like I do now.  Happiness is a state of mind.  My happiness is spending quality time with my daughters and watching them grow up, a good hug and kiss from my wife, a good laugh with a friend, any movement, the sun on my back, swimming in a pool, a morning walk, a round of golf, a great meal and an ice cold beer.  Don’t take your life too seriously, laugh more, work less, enjoy the outside and surround yourself with love.  Be happy, be kind, be grateful and be thankful.

Here is the passage from the book which I am quite fond of and I find myself reading everyday to remind myself to stay with the positive mental attitude.

 

There is no need to search; achievement leads to nowhere.  It makes no difference at all, so just be happy now!  Love is the only reality of the world, because it is all One, you see.  And the only laws are paradox, humor and change.  There is no problem, never was, and never will be.  Release your struggle, let go of your mind, throw away you concerns, and relax into the world.  No need to resist life; just do your best.  Open your eyes and see that you are far more than you imagine.  You are the world, you are the universe; you are yourself and everyone else, too!  It’s all the marvelous Play of God.  Wake up, regain your humor.  Don’t worry, you are already free!

Leave a Reply

