Hump Day Workout

Today’s workout was a typical lifting workout but with a different spin on it.  I performed 3 sets of 8 reps but I timed my rest period to only 1 minute and it worked me pretty good.  I was surprised how much work I got down in so little time.  After performing 5-6 big lifts with this rep range and timed rest, I look up at the clock and only 25 minutes had passed.  Which got me thinking about how much more effective our workouts can be if we control one of the variables like your rest break.  Think about how long you really actually rest in between sets, your rest might be getting a drink a water, talking to the cute girl on the outer thigh machine or watching a Sportscenter highlight, but I guarantee it is longer than 1 minute.  Get on the clock right after you finish your first set and give yourself 1 minute before you do the next one, bang out the next set, wait another minute and do set 3 and you are done with that exercise.  Time to move on to the next exercise.  Realistically speaking each exercise should take no more than 4 minutes max.  My goal in the gym is to get in, get after it and get out.  Make your workouts more efficient and effective and you will see some great results.

My workout looked like this:

Warm Up

Performed as a 3 exercise circuit

3 rounds of

8 Overhead Squats, 8 Push Ups, 8 Pull Ups

Workout

Front Squat 3 x 8 (95lbs)

Bent Over Row 3 x 8 (135,155, 165)

Romanian Deadlift 3 x 8 (165, 175, 185)

Kettlebell Swings 3 x 20 (28 kg ~ 61 lbs)

Dumbbell Chest Press 3 x 8 (70, 75, 75)

Hammer Strength High Pull 3 x 8 (90, 100, 100)

Dumbbell Squat Curl Press 3 x 8 (25,35,45)

Ab Wheel Roll Outs 3 x 20

Done in 45 minutes and feeling it.  Time to tackle the day.

Leave a Reply

