I Shall Dive

 

I shall dive

Because I like spinning through the air

Because there isn’t any other greater feeling

Because I feel like a bird

Because all eyes are watching me

Because of the dedication it takes

Because of the satisfaction I get

Because I like to see the judges scores

Because of the cheer of the crowd

Because I am good at it

Because I can

My coach gave this to me the other day and said “do you remember this?”  This is a poem I wrote when I was a senior in high school on why I love the sport of diving.  I did not remember it but I did once I read it.  It is really neat to think about the people who are in your lives and how long they have been a part of your life.  This particular coach I have known since 1997 when I was 17 and still continue to talk to today.  She is one my good friends, my mentor and my confidant.  I think good coaches are definitely people who have a positive impact on your life and are more than just coaches.  I want to give thanks to all of the fine coaches out there who do what they do because more than likely they are coaching because they are passionate about their sport and not so much for the money.

Leave a Reply

