Last Post of the Year

2014 is almost over and 2015 is ready to bring all of us good fortune and cheer for the new year.  I love to take time back and reflect on all the highlights the 2014 year had to offer me, what I learned from it and more importantly what I gained from it.  I started my year off with coaching my last year of diving at Orange Coast College and I wanted it to be special and memorable and it sure was with one of my favorite divers winning the state championship title on 3 meter.  I got to enjoy the birthdays of my two beautiful daughter Devon age 3 and Hartley age 1, my girls are my fuel to my fire, my light in the darkness and everything I live for.  I am grateful to have such wonderful, healthy and sweet girls who are a delight to watch grow, learn and excel each and everyday.  My wife and I took a trip to Hilton Head, South Carolina for a scouting trip for a possible move for our family.  We were able to check out a lot of the surroundings, loved it there and decided we are moving to Charleston, South Carolina.  We are excited and ready to move away from the go-go-go of the Southern California lifestyle and eager for a more laid back and simpler lifestyle.  We are saddened to leave behind all of the great friends we have made in our time in Cali but look forward to the new friends we will soon encounter.  I was delighted and blessed to be the best man in my brother’s wedding and had a blast.  One of the best and most fun weddings I have had the pleasure of participating in with lots of family and friends.  We unfortunately this year had to put down our pug Boo, who has been a family member for the 7 years.  She will be missed but always remembered from her snaggle tooth, eating coffee grounds and being my cuddle buddy.  My wife and I celebrated 6 years of wonderful marriage together and are still going strong.  I love my wife more and more everyday and love sharing all of the good and the bad with her and having someone who is there by your side everyday.  It is truly a blessing and a pleasure having a special someone you get to share in life’s journey with.  We are currently spending the last several days with my parents who are ultimately enjoying their grand kids as much as they can before we fly 2000 miles away to the other coast.  They are both happy and sad for us knowing that we are moving away to better our families lives but also sad because we are going from a 5 1/2 hour car ride to a 6 hour flight.

My time spent in California was wonderful and I owe a lot to everyone and everything that came into my life during that period.  I was able to grow and become the man I am today.  It is interesting when I think about it:  I moved to California with a car full of stuff and a girlfriend and now 9 years later I am leaving California with a wife, 2 daughters, a dog, a truck full of stuff, countless great memories and many great friends.  Thank you for everything California, now it is time to start the next chapter in South Carolina.

Have wonderful, happy and safe New Year everyone.  I hope it brings you everything you wish for and more.

Leave a Reply

