Perfection?

I was having this conversation the other day while training one of my clients and I was telling her how the last client I trained wanted smaller thighs, the muffin top to be gone and to reduce her back fat.  She told me she was thinking about and willing to go to such extent as to get liposuction to get to her desired body.  Then I started thinking about it, when does it end?  Does that just satisfy her until she finds something else she wants to make smaller?  Then I really started thinking about it and you know what, when it comes to health, fitness, exercise and reaching your desired body type: perfection is unobtainable.  Sure everyone can gain muscle, reduce their body fat, lose some inches, get tighter, get more toned and so on but no one is ever going to be perfect.  Perfection starts on the inside with being happy with what you have and who you are, not by what you see in the mirror.  I guarantee if you asked your celebrities, your super models and your sports stars if they think their bodies are perfect they would all say no.  I bet they all have something or some insecurity they are not happy with.  We all have something we strive for to reach our ideal bodies, that is what makes us human.  Just know, that the perfection you seek comes from the confidence inside of you and being happy with who you are.  I will tell you right now, I am 5’10”, 170 lbs and around 6-8% body fat, am I perfect?  To some yes but to me no and you know what I am okay with that.  Sure I would love to be a little more ripped, have bigger arms like Dwight Howard and have some bigger calves but I am totally okay without it.  I am not going to hurt myself or train myself into the ground to get there either.  Instead, I just accept my body for what God has given, thank him for giving me a fine, amazing work of machinery that runs great, has all my working appendages and is capable of many things.  Take pride in what you have and stop worrying about what you don’t have or what you want.  Yes, if you want something bad enough you can always work a little harder or clean up you diet a little more to help you on your way to get to where you want to be but don’t whine to me about wanting the perfect body without even trying to work for it.  If you want something bad enough, you better work your ass off to try to get it.  I see too many people who complain about how they want this or to get rid of that but they don’t want to work hard and put in the time and effort.  In order to get something you have never had, you have to do something you have never done, so that means get off your butt and get to work.  We are getting lazier and lazier as a country and everyone wants the model body without putting in the work, they just want to be able to just take a magic pill and then “poof” overnight you have the body of your dreams.  Never going to happen.  You have to put in the work.  Keep working until you get there but remember to sit back, relax and admire the process it took to get there.

Perfection may not be obtainable but you know what is?  Having a great attitude, great confidence and being comfortable in your own skin.  Be happy with what you have and be grateful for what you have.  You may not be perfect in your own eyes but I bet there are people out there who think you are.

 

Leave a Reply

