Who was your Best coach?

Over the weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the Perform Better Functional Training Summit in Long Beach, CA.  Every year the company Perform Better puts on a seminar where all the great minds of fitness come together to give talk and hands on lectures on all of the latest, greatest exercises, equipment and ways to train.  I always walk away feeling inspired, motivated and re-energized about my life, my job and my attitude.  I really enjoy a lot the hands on lectures because I am more of a visual learner and I enjoy learning new exercises and/or new twists on classic exercises.  This year was a little different for me because instead of learning more exercises, I learned more about myself and how to be a better coach and more successful in business.  Being a trainer you learn anything and everything you can about movement, exercise and nutrition but not so much about how to be a great business man or sales or how to be a better coach.  This seminar helped shine some light on the gray areas in my life and perhaps the areas in which need more attention.  Training is more than giving someone a killer workout and beating them into the ground, almost anybody can do that.  Training is more about shaping lives, getting others inspired about fitness and motivating people to make great choices throughout their days.  On average, us trainers see a client 2 to 3 hours of the week out of a possible 168 hours.  Being a great trainer is making a difference on how the clients do with the rest of those 165-166 hours out of the week.  We want to make a lasting impression and want to know if: are they fueling enough with the right foods?  Are they sleeping 6-8 hours a night? Are they getting in any extra movement when they are not seeing you?  Are they parking far away and taking the stairs every time they can?  Are they taking the proper steps to eliminate stress?  These are all questions a trainer asks themselves and hopes to exercise these areas as well as the physical part.

By far the most captivating, entertaining, inspiring and motivating speakers we had the luxury to see speak is Mr. Martin Rooney.  Martin Rooney is the creator of Training for Warriors and is the most energetic speaker I have ever seen.  He has the power to fire up anybody and get them ready to conquer the world.  He has an attitude that high energy and enthusiasm is contagious and it is.  His speech was on how to be a better coach and it really hit home with me.  Think about all the great coaches in your life and think about why they were the great ones.  What did they do that helped you or influenced you?  What was different about they way the coached you than any other coach?  I think being a great coach is more than being excellent in their sport but more so connecting with their athletes and getting the most out of them as possible.  Coaching is about being passionate about what you do and truly caring for who you are working with.  Not only are coaches good for the game but the good ones should be good for their lives.  Coaches should instill the values necessary for the athletes to be successful in life.  I attended a going away to college party this past weekend for one of my former divers and it made me feel great when the diver’s parents and two other friends of hers complimented me on what a great job I did coaching her this last year and how much I helped her.  It is stuff like that fills me up with pride and makes me proud to be a coach.

Mr. Martin Rooney  had these rules which he created which helps us trainers and coaches become better and what we do. He calls them paradigm shifts and and thought not only do they apply to trainers and coaches but also to every day real world applications and I would like to share them with you.  Here are the 8 paradigm shifts we all could try to work on:

  1. Make sure you are aiming at the right targets.
  2. Treat your job as if it were a profession and teach as if you were a renown artist.
  3. Plan your sessions (or hours/days) like you are in charge of planning a birthday party.
  4. Don’t seek to make people tired.  Seek to make them better than before they met you.
  5. Become the coach you always dreamed you would have had.
  6. Don’t wait for the perfect time to start.  Start and maybe the time will be perfect.
  7. Coach every session as if they will someday build a statue in your honor.
  8. Serve.  You will hot be measured by what you got, but by what you gave.

Wow.  Hopefully this hits home to those fellow coaches and trainers out there like it did to me and for the others, hopefully this is useful just as much.  I love and enjoy my jobs and I will continue to strive to be the best at what I do and will continue to connect and make them better than they were before.  That is my job, that is my passion, that is my mission.

Leave a Reply

