Grocery Store Run

Every Sunday morning we make our voyage to the local grocery store with the family.  At times it can be a chore and at times it is a little bit of a hassle with two young kids to chase after and keep happy, but our trip to the store is one that helps provide nutritious and healthy food for our family for the week.  I use to get a little upset about the amount of money we spent every week at the store but then I started thinking about how grateful I am that I can provide great nourishing food for me and my family and also about all the ways I am helping shape a longer, healthier, hopefully less diseased, fulfilling future.  I am glad we eat the way we do and we are not dependent on fast food take out, pizza and the prepackaged food that comes out of a box or can.  We eat healthy with lots of fresh fruit, vegetables, nuts, meats and eggs.  Sure we do buy some of the less healthier snacks mainly for the kids like crackers and chips, but when we do, we do our best to pick the healthiest option of them all.  I always look for the less ingredients possible for almost every processed food we buy and I also scan the labels for any of the big No-No ingredients such as: canola oil, high fructose corn syrup, and hydrogenated anything.  I am ecstatic I can lead by example for my kids and show them daddy eats his vegetables, fruits and nuts and I get even more excited when Devon my oldest daughter asks me for a banana.  I want to influence them enough to make great food choices now and well into the future.  Do not get me wrong, even though I am a personal trainer and love the paleo/primal eating lifestyle, I still have my cravings and impulse buys, I am only human.  My impulse buys are a little less impulsive than others with my picks being dark chocolate covered almonds, coconut rolled dates or an occasional ice cream or frozen yogurt.

How many of you go grocery shopping for the week?  And if so, what is in your cart?  Is your cart mainly full boxes of frozen dinners, pizza and ready to make meals?  Or is there some fruits and vegetables?  The more you invest in your health at the grocery store, the more you will reap the rewards in the future.  Yes, it is expensive spending money on organic fruits and vegetables, and yes it is expensive buying nuts and organic meats but we have to think about investing in ourselves and our bodies.  Our bodies are our temples and we have to treat them and fuel them with the best high performance food we can afford.  If you have a hard time spending the extra bucks on organic produce at least buy the non-organic and enjoy the  good quality vitamins and minerals your produce has to offer you.  We are all a creatures of habit and we all tend to go to the foods we like and enjoy and our bodies get accustomed to what it is fed.  If you live on a diet full of fast food then chances are you are going to have more of a craving for fast food and continue to eat it.  If you eat clean and healthy then it pretty much a given that you will continue to eat that way.

I am going to give you all a brief breakdown of the food we bought just yesterday for our week.  We shop at our local store called Sprouts that we walk to and I highly enjoy it.  Keep in mind that this list is to feed my family of four:

Produce

  • Package of strawberries
  • Bag of Spinach
  • Dried Parsley
  • 3 Gold Asian Pears
  • Guacamole mix
  • Italian squash
  • Organic carrots
  • Organic bananas
  • Organic blueberries
  • Pineapple chunks
  • Bag of cabbage
  • 2 red yams
  • Sliced mushrooms
  • Bag of brussell sprouts

Grocery

  • 3 cans of albacore tuna
  • 2 boxes of Nut Thin crackers
  • Organic sweet relish
  • Toddler formula
  • Organic lemon juice
  • Organic lime juice
  • Soy free veganaise
  • 4 Dozen Vegetable Fed Eggs

Dairy

  • 4 cartons of Almond milk
  • 2 MIxed berry almond yogurts
  • Yobaby yogurt 6 pack
  • Whipping cream
  • String cheese

Meats

  • Sliced roast beef
  • Beef jerky
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • Package of chicken breasts

Frozen

  • Organic berry medley
  • Organic blueberries

Misc.

  • Almond butter
  • 1 pound of raw walnuts

Believe it or not, this was on the smaller side of our usual lists.  We generally spend between $150-$200 dollars a week on groceries.  For some that might seem like quite a bit but you have to understand we try to make that last for the whole week.  We try not to go out to eat and spend any extra money and have most of our meals at home.  We may have the occasional dinner where we run to get something but that might be 1 to 2 times a week max.  I try to look at it as $200 a week that is going to a good cause which would be good health for me and my family.  By eating this way, hopefully we are not spending money on blood pressure medicine, diabetes medication and we are staying clear of heart disease, coronary artery disease, diabetes, hypertension and obesity.  To me, it seems well worth it to spend the money now to invest in our health and well being than the alternative.  The choice is yours, hopefully make the right one.  Happy Monday everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

