2013 in Review

2013 is coming to a close and 2014 is a mystery filled with so much hope and promise.  Every year I like to go over the year in my mind and remember the highlights, the special trips, the great memories and all of the amazingness which life has brought me.  I turned another year older in the month of January as well as starting the season coaching again for diving at Orange Coast College.  I have continued to “try” to master the game of golf with practicing and or playing at least 2-3 times a week.  We made a trip back to Kunkletown, PA to celebrate my daughters second birthday as well as having a party here for her.  Continued to work hard training my clients and getting them in the best shape possible as well as myself.  I would get in at least 2 or 3 full body workouts every week.  I coached my divers to respectable finishes at the state championship with one of my girl divers taking 3rd on 3 meter.  I got to enjoy the warm California summer with lots of quality family time and pool time trying to teach my daughter to swim.  In July we were blessed with the addition of my other daughter Hartley Mae who is an absolute joy and treat to have in our lives.  She looks like a cuter version of a female me, there is no denying she is my kid.  We had both sets of parents come out to visit and spend some quality time with their grandchildren.  I got to see my younger brother graduate from Cal State Fullerton which was something my wife and I had a big part of.  Watching him change, progress and become the man he is today is something I am very proud of.  He has come a long way from when he has moved out here and is great to see the transformation.  He is now currently engaged to his girlfriend and I could not be happier for the two of them.  She is wonderful and I wish them all the best.  We survived the holidays rather well and enjoyed watching the girls go trick or treating.  It is so cute to see your little ones dressed up in costume.  We had a quiet but amazing Christmas and our very blessed with the family and friends in our lives.  We are almost there to understanding Christmas and Santa coming to town.  We have my parents coming in for the new year and we would like to go out, we do not know where just yet.

All in all, I say 2013 was a great year.  I am looking forward to 2014.  2014 is the year we are moving.  We have been living out here in the state of California for almost 9 years and with two kids now are mission is to get a house.  We love the state but we know we can not get what we want for the price we want here.  It is ridiculously expensive and are only choice is to move.  We are planning on moving to Hilton Head / Bluffton South Carolina area where the pace of life is a lot slower and more relaxed.  I want a house with a big yard for not only me but my kids.  I grew up with a great big yard to play in and I want my kids to have the same.  I know it is going to be hard and very sad to move away especially with all the roots we have laid down, but I look forward to the change.  We are making a trip out there in May to check out the area, survey the scene, talk to some locals and look at some houses.  All of my thoughts, attitude, desire, and energy is going in to making this move happen.  Wish me luck and maybe I will see you on the East Coast soon.  Happy 2014 everyone.  I hope this year is one of the best years of your life.

Yours in strength and love

Bryan Frontdive Franzen

Leave a Reply

