Basic Human Movements

English: Arthur Saxon performing a bent press....

It is that time of year again, the weather is getting colder, the days shorter and the nights are longer and it is time to mix up with a different training program.  I generally love to change my programs when the seasons change and now is the time to get back into some heavy lifting.  I am talking about me, a barbell, some 45’s, a kettlebell or two, and good old fashioned weight training.  Now is a great time because the weather outside isn’t all that nice so why not hit it hard in the weight room, add some lean muscle mass and get stronger.  I find it easier to do because hopefully we are all sleeping a little longer with the it getting dark so soon and plus it is a great way to help burn off those unwanted extra calories.  I have been reading again and the latest book is by Dan John and it is called Intervention.  Every time I read a Dan John book I get inspired to hit it in the weight room and try to be a weight training animal.  I love seeing the progress, love feeling stronger, love  testing my body and I love seeing how much it can handle and perform.  Here is a short video on all of the basic human movements we should all be performing and correctly what order we should be performing them in.  Chances are we have been focusing on all the wrong things.  It is time to do the things we avoid, are not good at and know we need to do in order to get one step better.  Now is the time.

Again the 5 basic human movements are order of importance are:

  1. Loaded Carries
  2. Squat
  3. Hinge
  4. Pull
  5. Push

Loaded carries can be performed anywhere with pretty much about anything.  Grab a pair of heavy dumbbells, walk as far as you can with them and return back.  Heavy sandbag, kettlebells and a heavy weight vest all work great to.  Strive to do at least half of your body weight in each hand.  This is a weakness for me and I am striving to improve on.

Squats are done every single day whether you think about them or not.  Every time you sit down and get up, that’s a squat.  Now add some weight to the squat and you have yourself one of the best exercises ever.  Barbell front squats, back squats, goblet squats, double kettlebell squats or even heavy sand bag squats.  Great for working the whole body and adding some serious mass and strength.

Hinge is different than the squat because it requires more hip movement than knee movement.  Your hinge lifts are your deadlifts, Romanian deadlifts, single leg deadlifts and kettlebell swings.  The goal is to use the hips as much as you can and to create those bun of steels we all are after.

The pull is more important and more neglected than the push.  The pulling muscles are twice as big and strong as the pushing but we can not see them in the mirror.  Great pulling exercises are the barbell bent over row, pull ups, loaded pull ups, and 1 arm dumbbell row.  Remember to do twice as many pulls to push.

The push is everyones favorite.  The beach muscles come out in full effect.  We all know the great push exercises are: bench press, incline bench press, dumbbell press and the often over looked standing barbell shoulder press.  If you really want to get strong and I would start by adding the barbell shoulder press to your routine.  I can not bench due to a shoulder injury so I love shoulder pressing.

There are the basic movements and are a great way to add strength and size to your program.  I am currently working on and will continue working on the following for the next couple of weeks: loaded carries, suit case carries, waiter carries, kettlebell swings, Turkish get ups, barbell bent over row, barbell shoulder press, double kettlebell front squat and straight bar deadlift.  I am going to mess around with different rep schemes every time I perform my set of lifts like 2 sets of 5, 3 sets of 5, 3-2-1, 6 singles and an easy 10 rep day. My goal is to lift 3 to 4 days a week depending on my work schedule.  Wish me luck and I will keep you posted on the progress.

 

Leave a Reply

