Lifting Days

In my gym we have been geared up and training hard for a mantathlon challenge we will be  running in June.  I have been lifting a lot more weights and training hard getting my body ready for this challenge.  Well with a month before the competition I decided to give it a go and see where my numbers stand.  My current weight is 170 lbs so for a couple of the  exercises you have to do half of your body weight which for me is 85 lbs.

Exercise # 1: Bench Press your body weight.  I have a bum shoulder so I used 80 lb dumbbells instead.  10 reps

Exercise # 2: Full Hang Pull Ups: 20 reps

Exercise # 3: Shoulder Press Half body weight: 19 reps

Exercise #4: Dips plus a quarter of body weight( 42.5 lbs): 12 reps

Exercise # 5: Barbell Curls Half body weight: 5 reps

My score of 66 out of 100 is not too bad.  It is 10 better than my first attempt.  Definitely see where my weaknesses are and what I need to work on.

SInce this all upper body I decided to split it up and do the lower half today.

Warm Up: Lunges in all directions, overhead squat, band walks, jump rope

 

Barbell Complex 3 x 3 (65, 85, 95 lbs) all right in a row:

Hang Cleans, Front Squat, Shoulder Press, Back Squat, Good Mornings

Superset with 3 x10 hanging leg raises

 

Rear Foot Elevated Split Squat (95lbs) 3 x 8

Paired with Supine Leg Raises 3 x 10

 

Kettlebell Swings with the big boy (106lbs) 3 x 10

with 3 x 10 Ab Wheel Roll outs

 

Leave a Reply

