MMA Training

It is Monday and it is time to get motivated so let’s take some ACTION and make this one of our best weeks ever.  Let us all challenge ourselves this week in ways we never thought we could both inside and outside the gym.  Let us train harder, lift heavier, experiment with some new exercises and begin to fire it up this week.  Your body needs to be challenged both physically, mentally and emotionally and does not like the same routine.  I say variety is definitely the spice of life especially when it comes to the gym.  When I train myself and my clients I do not go for what we have done and what the program is.  I say to myself what have we NOT done in awhile and go with it.

To me there is no program, some days we might lift a lot of heavy weights, some days we might do a lot of cardio based exercises, some days lots of jumping and agility and then some days we will do all of them added together for one helluva great workout.  One of the most fun workouts my clients love is the no repeat days.  I train them for a full hour without ever repeating the same exercise.  How many of you have workouts like that?  Try not to put too much stress or emphasis on reps, sets and time and enjoy the movement or lift you are completing.  Go until you are tired, bored, fatigued or it is just not fun anymore.  Here is a video of some of the hardest working athletes on the planet; MMA fighters.  I love the way these guys train.  They have great intensity, work hard, challenge their bodies and leave nothing left.  They know their lives depend on it and I think we should incorporate a little of that mentality into our daily trainings.

“The purpose of training is to tighten up the slack, toughen the body, and polish the spirit. ”
Morihei Ueshiba

Leave a Reply

