What if Money Were no Object?

Money

Money (Photo credit: 401(K) 2012)

 

What if money were no object?  How would you like to spend your life?  Often times I believe we give up on our goals and dreams just to make money, with happiness taking a back seat.  We think we can not do what we love and make a living out of it.  We think money will buy us all the happiness we could ever want.  We are very material dependent and driven with our big houses, fancy cars, expensive phones and pricey hand bags.  But does all that really make you that much happier?  I think not.  Sometimes I believe I would be completely happy out in the middle of the wilderness in a log cabin with my beautiful family and amazing mother nature.  Just us and the sounds of the forest and wildlife, living a life completely free and unobstructed by the chaos of the city.

 

Let’s search down deep and really think about what you would do with your life if money were no object and you did not have to work.  What would you do?  What did you always want to be growing up as a kid?  What were your hobbies and activities in which you were truly passionate about?  I knew for me growing up I always wanted to help people.  I wanted to make a change in people’s lives for the good and impact them in a way to where they would never forget me.  I do not think I strayed to far away from that with my profession as a personal trainer and diving coach.  Both jobs are very similar.  If money were not object for me, I would love to coach a club diving team, a college diving team and  personal train clients outside.  I love coaching diving and find it very rewarding to me.  One thing I do think I am missing from coaching is teaching the little ones, you know kids from the ages of 5-18.  They are so pure, innocent and naive but also just so excited to be there and they will always give you their best effort.  It is a treasure to watch them succeed and grow as divers and as kids.  I do believe I need to get back to that.  I love coaching college divers because hopefully most of their mechanics are already there and it is more exciting to coach the bigger flipping and twisting dives.  And with training I do enjoy it but I believe we are missing the ground and earth connection.  We are too caught up in being in doors lifting X amount of weight X amount of times or running on a treadmill for X amount of time.  How about we go outside and climb some trees, jump on some rocks, drag some logs around and have a great time?  No reps, no counting, just you focused on the movement.  That is my goals and what I would do if money were no object.

 

I have always loved the line ” you should never feel like you have worked a day in your life”.  Because if you are truly passionate about what you do, it should never feel like work. I am lucky, I train clients at a gym where all my good friends work.  You will never hear me complain about going into work because I love it.

 

 

Expand your mind and strive toward you goal of what you want to do.  If you have a vision, put your mind to it and keep working at it until you get it.  I leave you with a line in the video that I love “It is better to have a short life in which you enjoy the things you are doing, than to have a long life spent in a miserable way.”

 

One thought on “What if Money Were no Object?

  1. Wow! Thank you for sharing this article.. As a senior in college wondering what I would like doing, money is always on my mind. The reason is because I want to be happy. But why not skip the middle man and go straight to happiness!

    Thank you again and I definitely will be giving this one some more thought!

Leave a Reply

