College Diving Tape

Another video of yours truly but this time we fast forwarded 4 years. The year is 2002 and the place is Ohio University. This meet was my conference championships for the University of Toledo and my last college competition. Fortunately for me, my parents were able to make it out for this last wonderful experience. I believe with them in town I performed better than I ever have. All my years at the championship meet, I have never made the finals on both boards.  In order to make the finals you have to place in the top 8 of the field. Once you are in the finals, you basically start from zero and you perform your 6 optional dives again.  My freshman year I did not make it and my sophomore and junior year I made finals on the 1 meter springboard only.  Well, with my parents in town, I dove extremely well and accomplished my goal of making the finals on both boards.

In this video you will see I only perform 6 optional dives on 1 meter and the full 11 dives on 3 meter.  This was the last year the NCAA had you perform the full 11 dives before cutting it to just the 6 optionals.  I apologize for the video being a little out of alignment and for me jumping out of the screen, but you get what you pay for and in this case it was free.  Unfortunately for me, this is the only video of I have of my college diving career so I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

