Warm Up Series #1

We all know that the warm up is an imperative part in the work out process.  We know it is necessary to prepare the body for the stress and action it is about to go through.  We know the goal of the warm up is to raise your core temperature, get the heart rate up, send blood to the active muscles, activate the nervous system, enhance performance and prevent injury.   How do you warm up?  What do you do to prepare your body for working out?  I imagine some of you like to hop on a bike, treadmill or elliptical and get the blood pumping.  I also imagine some of you just do some arms swings, a side bend or two and a couple of torso rotations and say you are good to go.  Whatever the case may be, I think you should consider being a little more specific in your warm up.

I believe your warm up should slightly mirror what your workout is going to be.  I have 3 different warm ups I use all depending on what I am doing that particular day and I would love to share one of them with you right now.

Above is the warm up I use when I am going to have an active, high intense, movement and cardio day, such as sprints, jumping, jump rope, plyometrics and explosive exercises. I believe this warm up successfully prepared me and my body for the war it just went through.

Remember, your warm up is your workout and your workout is your warm up.

Leave a Reply

