Myrtle Beach Vacation

Hello all, I am back after taking last week off to go on vacation.  My wife, my daughter, my parents and my in-laws all went to Myrtle Beach South Carolina to enjoy lots of fun in the sun and some much needed vacation time.  It has been over 2 years since my last vacation and I relished every moment of it.  We had a beach side condo on the fourth floor which looked out over the great Atlantic ocean.

It was such a nice treat to spend some time away from home with my parents and my in laws.  I think they may have enjoyed their time a bit more being able to spend a whole week with their granddaughter.  My parents see Devon about every 3 months or so but my in-laws have not seen her since she was 3 months old.  She has changed just little since then with all the walking, talking, climbing and playing she does.  She is non stop action.  I swear she is part monkey sometimes with all the climbing she does.

I really enjoyed South Carolina with it being a much slower change of pace than I am use to here in southern California.  The weather was fantastic for us the whole trip with it being in the low 80’s and a slight breeze.  We tried to take advantage of all Myrtle Beach had to offer.  I went swimming in the ocean every day since it is a lot more mellow and heck of a lot warmer than the Pacific.  We went to the aquarium one day, a plantation another and the zoo.  The zoo was one of the neatest zoo’s I have ever been to.  You can actually buy bags of food or popcorn and feed majority of the animals such as the goats, monkeys, ostriches, birds and turtles.  It had a black bear, a lion and a couple of tigers roaming around.

I was able to get out and golf a round one morning taking advantage of 1 of the 120 golf courses Myrtle Beach has to offer.  I was quite impressed with the course and had a great time even though I did not play too well.  I can’t complain though because I was playing a course I had never played before with clubs I have never hit with before (I rented).  I thought I had given myself enough time to hit a small bucket before my round but I was mistaken.

I really enjoyed hanging with my family and even more so having some great quality time with my wife.  With all the family around we were able to take advantage of the babysitters and have some date nights.  We went to sushi one night and our last night there we went to the House of Blues to see the dj Girl Talk.

 

I am big into primal eating as most of you know but however on this vacation I went off the wagon a little bit constantly enjoying chips, crackers, cookies, candies, and beers almost daily.  One of my favorite beers is Yuengling Lager and it only exist on the east coast.  I can not get it out here so I was drank my fair share of it.  I still made good choices for most of my major meals but I had no regrets or guilt for all the other junk I consumed.  I am more than ready to get back on my usual eating lifestyle.  I did eat a lot of junk and you know what, I did not feel all that great when I did.  And when I did eat that stuff, my body just craved more of it.

That is why I have decided to go on a 21 day sugar and alcohol detox.  No processed sugar or alcohol for the the next 3 weeks.  Fruit is okay.

All in all, it was a fantastic vacation.  It was much overdue.  I feel so much more patient, calm, relaxed, re-energized, re-focused and ready to go.

 

Leave a Reply

