Adult Playground

As many of you may know, I am a happily married man with a beautiful 14 month old daughter Devon.  Devon is my world.  She is the cutest, sweetest, greatest thing in my life and I am truly blessed and grateful to spend my days raising her.  Having kids is by far the neatest, coolest and most rewarding part of life.

With having Devon, her and I frequent various parks around the area.  I believe it is a great way to get out, get some sunshine, some fresh air and have her burn off energy as she explores, climbs, runs and plays.  We climb up the stairs, go across the bridges, down the slides, swing on the swings and just have a grand time.  While she is doing her thing, I sneak in my chances to climb on the playground equipment, go up the slides, do some pull ups and push ups off the bars, climb up the steps and swing on the monkey bars.  If you haven’t played on any playground equipment in awhile, I highly recommend it.  It is energizing, fun and it just feels good.  I believe we forget what it is like to be a kid and run, jump, climb, swing and slide.  Playing on the playground is fun for me (probably because I am a big kid) but not super fun because it is all very small.  Obviously it is built for the youngsters so then I got to thinking.

Wouldn’t it be great if there was an adult sized playground?

Think about it, everything built to the specifications of the average adult.  Take the regular playground and increase the size of it by 3 times.  I think it would be AWESOME.  A 20 foot high cargo net you can climb which leads down a 20 foot slide.  A big old suspension bridge you can walk, hop, jump and run across.  A huge ladder you would have to climb up using your arms and your legs and monkey bars.  Monkey bars are fantastic and the problem with them now is you can only get 1 maybe 2 good swings on them before you have to stop.  With the adult version make it like 20 feet long with enough room for you to swing 8-10 times or so.  Maybe have a set of rings to swing and play on as well as adult sized swings.  Swings are a great fun and effective workout.  You may not think  you are “working out” which is the best part because you are having so much fun.  In actuality, you are getting a great arm, leg and core workout.

My adult playground would probably have a zip line too.  You would have to climb up a huge cargo net or a rope ladder and then zip line down.  I think it would also have a trampoline.  How much fun are trampolines?  Have you ever seen someone not smiling or happy when on one?  Because I haven’t.  Trampolines are super fun, super tiring and a great workout for not only your legs and cardiovascular system but also your lymphatic system.  I would make it adult safe and put it in the ground so the top is even with the ground.  Maybe a teeter totter and a merry go round to finish it out.

My playground sounds pretty darn fun to me.  Did I miss anything?

I believe I could be on to something here or I am just talking crazy, either or, it is fun to dream.  Have a fantastic playground type day.  Remember the world is your playground so go out and use it.

 

Leave a Reply

