The Game

THE GAME  
   

Here you go,
Everything I have.
I give you my heart,
My sweat, blood, and tears.

I run, jump, dive,
Sacrifice my body, health, and time
Rain or shine,
I’m out there.

I don’t want to be.
But this game,
It’s part of me.

Day after day,
The game beats me down.
Kicking mud in my face
Destroying my confidence

But I refuse to stay down,
To give up, to fail.
No instead I push harder
Run that extra sprint,
Stay that extra twenty minutes.

Knowing that come game time,
I will rise to the top.
I will be the winner.
I will defeat the game.

Leave a Reply

