Sample Primal Eating

I wanted to give you an insight into 3 days of my eating lifestyle.  I am a big believer in the primal eating lifestyle and I wanted to show you how easy it can be.  Everything listed is all homemade.  I know it may not be perfect but I want you guys to see where you can always make good decisions.  I generally eat breakfast everyday at 5 am, lunch is usually around 12-12:30 and dinner varies from 6 to 7:30 pm. I  drink nothing but water all day long and I also go on several short walks 2-3 times everyday.

Monday

Breakfast:  4 whole eggs, handful of macadamia nuts, handful of blackberries, green tea

Lunch:  Spinach salad with carrots, cucumber, broccoli, cauliflower, and sliced chicken with balsamic vinegar dressing

Dinner:  2 blue cheese and onion burgers(no bun) topped with grilled onion, mushrooms and bacon.  Big  side of asparagus

Dessert:  Handful of dark chocolate covered walnuts

Workout on Monday.  I always go big on Monday workouts, so I did a lot of explosive body weight exercises such as explosive push ups, explosive pull ups, squat jumps, lung jumps, skater jumps.  Participated in the challenge of the week which is 1 minute of heavy jump rope for maximum number of reps.

Challenge for you guys is to pick any exercise and go as hard and as fast as you can for a full minute.  It can be anything like push ups, squats or even jumping jacks and I guarantee it will be very challenging.

Tuesday

Breakfast:  4 whole eggs with spinach and cheese topped with avocado and srirachi.  Handful of blackberries

Snack:Chi tea latte, Handful of cashews

Lunch: Fairly hungry.  Had a big piece of leftover turkey meatloaf, a side of asparagus, 3 cups of tuna(made with relish, onion, curry, dill, and miracle whip), a whole kiwi, and a small handful of dark chocolate covered almonds. Still hungry, had a handful of carrots

Dinner:  Homemade fajitas with no tortillas.  Huge plate of onions, red peppers, yellow peppers and orange peppers with pre-peeled shrimp and about 8 oz of grilled ribeye topped with avocado, tapatio, and salsa. Also, a couple of flaxseed chips topped with melted cheese.  My wife threw down and I was much appreciative.

Dessert: A small piece of a 72% dark chocolate bar and 4 chocolate chip peanut butter cookies.  Cookies are unfortunately one weakness of mine.

I generally find on my non-workout days I am hungrier than any other day.  Not much activity on this day.  I did some light pull ups and push ups and played a handful of games of reaction ball with the fellas.

Wednesday

Breakfast: 3 whole eggs with about 2 cups of leftover shrimp and fajita mix from last nights dinner scrambled together topped with an avocado.  Handful of blackberries.  Cup of coffee with coconut milk and a tablespoon of sugar.

Worked out.  I snuck in a quick workout of mainly body weight exercises, some kettlebell 1 arm snatches, 1 leg squats, chops, rotations, and about 10 sets of 10 pull ups and push ups.

Lunch: Big spinach salad with tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and 2 cut up chicken sausages topped with avocado and salsa for the dressing. A whole kiwi, 5 handfuls of shelled pistachios, a small piece of dark chocolate and a couple of dark chocolate covered walnuts.

Dinner: Skipped it.  I was not hungry for dinner and I purposely skipped it because I wanted to fast until the next morning.  I fast once a week by not eating breakfast and I have always wanted to miss dinner.  My wife however, usually makes a great production of dinner so it would be an insult to her if I did not eat.  She worked this night so I finally got to try out of my 17 hour fast.  If you want some reading information on why it is greatly beneficial to fast every once in awhile here is a good article: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/health-benefits-of-intermittent-fasting/

Well that breaks down my last 3 days of primal eating, I hope it was insightful and informative for most of you.  Like I said before I am not perfect by any means.  I would like to point out every time I had some dessert or chocolate I eat it directly after whatever meal so my body digests everything all together at the same time rather than waiting a couple of hours to digests it again.  Any questions or if you would like to share your sample eating plans I would love to read them.

Leave a Reply

